School Council

The School Council of Puckapunyal allows for the election of up to 8 non DET members, up to 6 DET members including the Principal, and up to 2 co-opted members. 


A school council’s objectives are to:

  • Assist in the efficient governance of the school
  • Ensure that its decisions affecting students of the school are made having regard, as a primary consideration, to the best interests of the students
  • Enhance the educational opportunities of the students of the school
  • Ensure the school and the council comply with any requirements of the DEECD Act, the regulations, a Ministerial Order or a direction, guideline or policy issued under this Act.

The desired education program of the school is thus developed through the process of consultation and negotiation among those vitally affected. The adopted policies, therefore, reflect the values and the goals of the whole school community.


Elections are held for School Council each year in March. Please consider becoming actively involved in your school through School Council membership.


The 2021 School Council members are:

Department of Education Representatives (Teachers)

Damien Humphrey

Karen Sullivan

Helen Atkinson

Kevin Warne (Executive Officer)

Kahlia Evans (Vice-Executive Officer)


Non-Department of Education Representatives (Parents)

Anne Trevena (President)

Adam Reimers (Vice-President)

Dave Allen (Treasurer)

Danielle Whitwell (Minute Secretary)

Zachary Klein

Duncan Birks

Jake Kociancic

Stephanie McKay



Finance Committee

Anne Trevena

Kevin Warne

Helen Atkinson

Buildings and Grounds Committee

Helen Atkinson

Kevin Warne

Karen Sullivan


Curriculum Committee

Damien Humphrey

 (and support from all staff)